Alamo Colleges

The Alamo Colleges serve the Bexar County community through their programs and services that help students succeed in acquiring higher education. The five colleges - San Antonio College (est. 1925), St. Philip’s College (est. 1898), Palo Alto (est. 1985), Northeast Lakeview (est. 2007) and Northwest Vista (est. 1995) - offer associate degrees, certificates and licensures in occupational programs that prepare students for jobs, as well as arts and science courses that transfer to four-year colleges and universities and lead to AA and AS degrees.

In 2013 the Institute partnered with St. Philip’s College, the only federally designated college to be recognized as a historically black college and Hispanic-serving institution, for the DOE SunShot award DISTINCT: Diversity In Solar Talent through INovative Curriculum and Training. The DISTINCT project brings an integrated research and education approach towards creating diversity and advancing utility-scale solar technology.

In addition, the Institute has partnered with the Alamo Colleges on numerous city wide STEM initiatives for STEM education K-12th grade.